• Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they
  • American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut
  • The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist,
  • In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project —to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the
Latest News & Information

Encouraging Diversity Through Children's Books

Diversity – a variety.  This very simple definition from The Scholastic Children’s Dictionary reminds us to include stories, songs and games from multiple cultures with our children.  Here are a dozen of our favorite tales about the world around us, a small portion of the resources available at the Altoona Area Public Library to explore a global variety of stories with your child.

 

Alborough, Jes. Hug.  Cambridge, MA: Candlewick Press, 2002.  One little one searches for a hug, the universal sign of love.

Audience: 
Everyone

PA One Book Every Young Child Event

Over 40 children ages six and under and their caregivers attended the Altoona Area Public Library's special event, PA One Book Every Young Child on Friday April 11th, 2014 at 10:30 am. The event was sponsored by The Common Wealth Library of Pennsylvania, The Family Resource Center at the United Way of Blair County, AASD Family Literacy, The Blair County Conservation District and the Altoona Area Public Library. Participants enjoyed songs, crafts, activities and a special reading by Altoona City Mayor, Matt Pacifico. 

Audience: 
Everyone

Friends of the Altoona Area Public Library prepare for book sale!

You won’t want to miss the Friends of the Altoona Area Public Library USED BOOK SALE.  There are 1000's of items featuring hardcover books, paperbacks, DVDs, CDs, audio books, puzzles, games and more.  Special Book Sale hours will be Friday, April 25 from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Saturday, April 26 from 9 to 5 p.m.; and Monday, April 28, 2014 ($5.00 a bag day from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.  All money will benefit the library.  Preparing for the sale are (from left): Rita Holz, Lois Gagermeier, Mary Shumaker, and Helen Gorsuch

Audience: 
Everyone