• Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they
  • American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut
  • The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist,
  • In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project —to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the
Latest News & Information

Patron Diana Hite donates pennies to win February's gift certificate.

Congratulations to Diana Hite, winner of the $20.00 Dutch Hill Chocolates gift certificate.  She donated Pennies to help fund Children's Programming at the Altoona Area Public Library.  The drawing took place March 1, 2014.
Audience: 
Everyone

Sharing Stories in Our Community

Did you know that Fantasy and Fairy Tales help children to learn?  Recognizing patterns, predicting actions and understanding choices are a few of the skills that help youngsters become readers and writers.  Comparing tales helps focus on patterns and predictions in familiar stories.    We had so much fun doing exactly that when we shared The Story of the Gingerbread Man during the Juniata Gap Elementary 17th Annual Day of the Arts. 

Audience: 
Everyone

Hand-carved marionettes on display in Library foyer case

The Altoona Area Public Library invites you to  view these hand carved marionettes made by Laura Conrad which will be in the foyer case through December 27, 2013.

Audience: 
Everyone