• Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they
  • American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut
  • The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist,
  • In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project —to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the
Latest News & Information

Thank you Summer Reading Program Sponsors!

We would like to extend a great big thank you to all of the local businesses who helped to make our Summer Reading Programs a success through their generous donations:

Altoona Mirror, "Making It Happen For You"

Audience: 
Everyone

New Youth Room Book Display

The Youth Room at the Altoona Area Public Library has a fresh new look to its children’s book display section. The shelves now feature books focused on the five literacies of the PA Forward State Initiative. Each column has a label at the top stating the featured literacy and a description of the each including Civic Literacy, Financial Literacy, Health Literacy, Informational Literacy and Basic Literacy. Materials on the rows of shelves below represent the corresponding theme.

Audience: 
Everyone
Kids

10 ways to have summer fun with your favorite books

Join the Summer Reading Elementary Club, share your creations with the library, and we can add them to the Altoona Mirror Summer Reading Club Special Edition in August.  Happy Reading!

1.  Make a mask of your favorite character with a paper plate or paper bag.

2.  Draw your favorite part of the story on paper or on the sidewalk.

3.  Write a new book or chapter with yourself as a character.

4.  Make paper plate or sock puppets of your favorite characters.

5. Combine two favorite stories and characters in a new adventure.

Audience: 
Kids