• Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they
  • American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut
  • The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist,
  • In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project —to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the
Latest News & Information

Encouraging Your Little Scientist

Babies are born with an amazing ability to learn.  In fact, a recent article in Education Week, March 6, 2013 affirms that "Young children are natural-born scientists and engineers... the brain is particularly receptive to learning math and logic between the ages of 1 to 4... "   Books that repeat sequences and include numbers are a great way to encourage that innate ability.  Here are a dozen favorites you can find at your favorite neighborhood Altoona Area Public Library: 

Audience: 
Everyone

Library and Elementary Schools Partner to Promote New Children’s Reading Materials

The Altoona Area Public Library is pleased to announce the purchase of its new children's eSebco e-books that can be read on any Internet browsing device. The books are available to any patron with a library card and the books can be viewed by multiple users simultaneously. In addition, the titles are also read regularly in local elementary classrooms. Teachers and principals were so excited to promote the free materials that they asked AAPL's children's librarian to conduct a Parent Involvement event for families at each school.

Audience: 
Everyone

Teens and CareerLink at the Library

Altoona Library Teen Services is proud to host CareerLink which offers area teens career planning and employment services. The CareerLink offers several programs for youth ages 14-21: Journeys, Workforce Investment Act Year-round Programs, and the Summer Youth Employment Program. They currently have openings in these programs and will be available to talk with teens at the Library every Monday starting at 3:30. Please call 946-0417 ext. 129 for more information.

Audience: 
Teens