• Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they
  • American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut
  • The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist,
  • In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project —to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the
Latest News & Information

Smoke-free homes and cars

To promote PA Forward's Health Literacy initiative, the Youth Room has partnered with Blair County Drug and Alcohol Program to promote smoke free homes and cars. Stop by and check out our display offering parent pledges, helpful books, and more information on the program.

photo: Mother, Sarah Tower pledging "Fresh Air Now" to protect daughter, Lydia Tower and expecting baby boy.

Audience: 
Everyone

Read Aloud Favorites of 2012

Read Aloud Favorites of 2012

This list reflects a mix of old and new titles that have been read to our young friends during Library Visits to area Preschool Programs.  Children ask us to read these again and again.  And so, from the mouths of our youngest  - Here are 24 favorites – to enjoy during the New Year.

 

All the Colors of the Earth by Hamanaka

Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do you See by Martin/Carle

Bear Feels Sick by Wilson

Chalk by Suboda

Do Bears Buzz? By Dahl

 

Audience: 
Kids

15 + ways to share a favorite book

15 + ways to share a favorite book  - for those umpteen repeats of a favorite story.

(The first read should always be for discovery of the tale.)

After that you can expand the experience by…

Predicting the next page – What do you think will happen?

Changing an action – What would happen if this didn’t work?

Acting out an emotion – Overact to emphasize.

Reversing the pages – Change the order of events, play with the reaction – Are you sure that’s not right?

Audience: 
Kids