• Vasya Kandinsky was a proper little boy: he studied math and history, he practiced the piano, he sat up straight and was perfectly polite. And when his family sent him to art classes, they
  • American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut
  • The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist,
  • In the summer of 2010, photographer Brandon Stanton began an ambitious project —to single-handedly create a photographic census of New York City. The photos he took and the
Latest News & Information

The Friends of the Altoona Area Public Library to Hold Used Book Sale

The Friends of the Altoona Area Public Library will hold a used book sale from 9 am to 5 pm, Friday October 23rd, Saturday October 24th, and Monday, October 26th, which will be $5.00 a bag day. There will be no Sunday hours. The sale will include hard and paperback books, games, DVDs, CDs, VHS, audio books, and records. All money benefits the library. Sorting the books for the sale are (from left to right):

Helen Gorsuch, Mary Shumaker, Judy Brown, Anne Wolf, and Daisy Costanza.

Audience: 
Everyone

Did You Know???

Did you know that the Altoona Library has FREE Nook Simple Touch eBook readers loaded with books for you to checkout and take home? Some of the genres that you can check out are: New York Times bestsellers, mystery, historical fiction, romance, and sci-fi/fantasy to name a few. You can also check out a Nook with non-fiction titles on it including subjects such as health, business, and travel too. All you need to check out a Nook is your current Altoona Library card and a valid credit card (used for validation only). Stop in and borrow one today!

Audience: 
Adults

Altoona Library to Celebrate International Read an eBook Day 2015

The Altoona Area Public Library will take part in and celebrate International Read an eBook Day, an annual holiday to celebrate and raise awareness for reading on digital devices on September 18. In recent years, the popularity of eBooks has soared and readers are taking advantage of the eBook technology and popular titles available at their local library. Through July 2015, public library customers have borrowed 94.7 million eBooks and audiobooks, a 24 percent increase over the same period in 2014 (according to OverDrive).

Audience: 
Teens
Adults